Books, Books and More Books

I’ve come to the sudden realization that I really do have too many books…both ebooks and read hard copy novels. Should there be a limit to how many books a person owns? I was browsing an online bookstore yesterday trying to find something to read when a sudden thought occurred…I already have books I haven’t read. Most of them I want to read…I just either haven’t had the time or it wasn’t appealing when I am trying to find something to read.

I have…I guess I can say an obsession with books. I can’t find it in myself to throw out or give books away. And I really can’t help myself when I go into the local bookstore. When I eventually leave I’ve always had a bag in my hands with a newly purchased book. I always save books….and magazines for that matter…but Magazines are an entirely different story. I need them for my studies and eventually my career. I’ve got magazines leading all the way back to before I was born.

I recently have taken into care my grandfathers belongings and in these blue Rubbermaid tubs are magazines and  books on almost any topic. Some are really old and yet I find myself keeping them all. Some books I have no interest in reading but there like a connection to him and will forever be a keepsake of mine.

Whats your bookshelf like? Both ebooks and book?

2 thoughts on “Books, Books and More Books

  1. I’m the opposite. I love reading books but I don’t feel the need or desire to own them… which is good because I definitely don’t have the money to support a habit like that. I can’t imagine buying books and then not reading them… but other people look at me weird that I can read a book and love it and then return it to the library without a second thought, or take books that I own that I used to love and donate them once I decide I really don’t need them in my collection anymore.

    To answer your question, right now I probably own about 50 books. And that’s plenty for me… but no, I don’t think there’s such a thing as “too many.” If they make you happy and you can afford it, why not surround yourself with books? There are far worse obsessions to have.

    • It’s not so much that I buy the book and then not want to read it after it’s more like I’ve forgotten about it or I’ve just gotten too busy and I say…oh yeah, I’ll read that this weekend when the chores and homework are done…but then things just get in the way. Most times than not it’s life getting in the way of hobbies. lol I love books. I could spend the whole day in the library. They feed my creative muse. Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

